Login Form



Who's Online

We have 82 guests online

Statistics

OS : Linux t
PHP : 5.2.17
MySQL : 5.6.33
Time : 00:38
Caching : Disabled
GZIP : Enabled
Members : 3138
Content : 170
Web Links : 6
Content View Hits : 160868

 
 Darkstone Forum :: General Game Forum
Welcome Guest   [Register]  [Login]
<< Start < Prev 1 2 Next > End >>
 Subject :Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 05-02-2010 20:47:55 
Mithrandir
Moderator
Joined: 26-01-2010 09:45:51
Posts: 24
Location

I cannot determine the source of this error:

Wow64 Emulation Layer
1109
The program or feature "\??\G:\install\setup.exe" cannot start or run due to incompatibility with 64-bit versions of Windows. Please contact the software vendor to ask if a 64-bit Windows compatible version is available.

I thought that there should be no problems on emulating a 32bit environment. Most of my applicatins are still 32bit. Only Darkstone seems to make big problems.

 

IP Logged
Last Edited On: 05-02-2010 20:48:25 By Mithrandir for the Reason
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 06-02-2010 13:03:25 
Mithrandir
Moderator
Joined: 26-01-2010 09:45:51
Posts: 24
Location

Yesterday I found a tutorial on how to activate the Windows-XP-Mode for Windows 7 without having the 'Professional' version.

http://www.mydigitallife.info/2009/12/14/workaround-to-install-windows-xp-mode-in-windows-7-home-premium-and-home-basic/

With Virtual PC you can create a virtual computer and install Windows XP.

32-bit (x86): http://download.microsoft.com/download/0/5/5/0554AE99-785F-45CB-B1F2-0E3ED1E6117D/Windows6.1-KB958559-x86.msu

64-bit (x64): http://download.microsoft.com/download/0/5/5/0554AE99-785F-45CB-B1F2-0E3ED1E6117D/Windows6.1-KB958559-x64.msu

When patched up to Service Pack 3 you can now manually install the Virutal Integration Support:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=e5433d88-685f-4036-b435-570ff53598cd

Only for this update to work you need a version of 'Windows XP Professional'. I currently had only a 'Home' verson of it. So another few hours gone with trying to get Darkstone running on Win7. I'm gonna try to find a copy of WinXP Professional and try it sometime. I think this WinXPMode with it's integration in the hosting desktop environment is the only chance to get the game running anytime soon...

IP Logged
Last Edited On: 06-02-2010 13:07:29 By Mithrandir for the Reason
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 06-02-2010 13:27:38 
Zevero
Moderator
Joined: 06-02-2010 12:20:59
Posts: 8
Location: Denmark
 
Thank you very much for this. I don't have Windows 7 yet, but I'm planning on getting it as soon as I can afford it, so this saves me a lot of problems when the time comes. I still can't run it (properly) on Windows XP, so I'm not hoping for anything yet, but it's worth a shot. Thanks again!
IP Logged
Love your enemies... It really tics them off!
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 06-02-2010 13:30:18 
Pureblood
Moderator
Joined: 06-02-2010 11:10:34
Posts: 6
Location: Germany
I couldn't install Darkstone from Win7 64-bit either, but as I have Windows XP installed in parallel, I found a solution: I could install the game from the 32-bit WinXP and then start it also from the 64-bit Win7. Looks like the problem is only with the setup.exe file.
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 06-02-2010 16:58:49 
Mithrandir
Moderator
Joined: 26-01-2010 09:45:51
Posts: 24
Location

Yes, seems the problem exists for the setup only. I took the whole program folder from the virtual xp instance and put it on the win7 machine. Everything seems to work fine with the compatibility mode. One minor problem still exists, of course. The fonts are blurred very heavily in the menus and when displaying dialog texts. This makes playing the custom quests a real pain in the ass (because there's a lot of written dialog). But at least it runs again.

I know everybody is going to suggest to use older drivers, but I'm not gonna downgrade them on my new win7 machine (I don't know if that would be even possible).

So, Darkstone is running (with the minor font glitch) on this machine (for reference):

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 2/6/2010, 15:54:02
Machine name: PETER-PC
Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255)
Language: German (Regional Setting: German)
System Manufacturer: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO.,LTD
System Model: MS-7501
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) 9850 Quad-Core Processor (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4094MB RAM
Page File: 1865MB used, 6321MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 64bit Unicode

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x9442)
DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9442&SUBSYS_02641043&REV_00
Display Memory: 2809 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1018 MB
Shared Memory: 1791 MB
Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: PnP-Monitor (Standard)
Monitor Model: W2242
Monitor Id: GSM5678
Native Mode: 1680 x 1050(p) (59.883Hz)
Output Type: DVI
Driver Name: atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver File Version: 8.14.0010.0700 (English)
Driver Version: 8.661.0.0
DDI Version: 10.1
Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Driver Attributes: Final Retail

-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
Description: Lautsprecher (High Definition Audio-Gerät)
Default Sound Playback: Yes
Default Voice Playback: Yes
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0888&SUBSYS_14627501&REV_1000
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 65535
Type: WDM
Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
Driver Version: 6.01.7600.16385 (German)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
WHQL Logo'd: Yes
Date and Size: 7/14/2009 01:07:00, 350208 bytes
Other Files:
Driver Provider: Microsoft
HW Accel Level: Basic
Cap Flags: 0xF1F
Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
HW Memory: 0
Voice Management: No
EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

Description: Digitalaudio (S/PDIF) (High Definition Audio-Gerät)
Default Sound Playback: No
Default Voice Playback: No
Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0888&SUBSYS_14627501&REV_1000
Manufacturer ID: 1
Product ID: 65535
Type: WDM
Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
Driver Version: 6.01.7600.16385 (German)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail

IP Logged
Last Edited On: 06-02-2010 17:00:27 By Mithrandir for the Reason
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 06-02-2010 18:08:23 
Zevero
Moderator
Joined: 06-02-2010 12:20:59
Posts: 8
Location: Denmark
 
I'm actually considering getting an old computer with Windows 95 or something, only for the purpose of playing older games (such as Darkstone). Should be possible, not too expensive, and I wouldn't have to do a lot of searching and brainstorming to get it to work. Simple solution, but I just miss playing it.
IP Logged
Love your enemies... It really tics them off!
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 08-02-2010 02:11:35 
Magiko
Moderator
Joined: 07-02-2010 23:49:02
Posts: 4
Location

My solution to play old games is intall first win98/XP in the first(s) partition(s) in a dual boot system with win7 in the 3rd (or second) partion later. =-)

 

My easy way:

1. Format and make 3 (or 2) partitions (win98 bootdisk can do it)

2. Intall Win98 (or WinXP) in the first partition

3. Intall WinXP (or Win7) in the second partition

4. If u like full compatibility like me, and made 3 partitions, then intall Win7 in the 3rd partition

 

Now u can play any game ^^

IP Logged
Last Edited On: 08-02-2010 02:27:03 By Magiko for the Reason
Magiko s.gif

" O Futuro não nos pertence, cabe-nos apenas conquistá-lo. "
" The Future doesn't belong us, it fits us just to conquer it. "


vs.png
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 08-02-2010 02:13:32 
Pureblood
Moderator
Joined: 06-02-2010 11:10:34
Posts: 6
Location: Germany
That is exactly what I did as well, Magiko. By the way, my keyboard isnt working in the Win7 bootmanager anymore, so a) I cant start my WinXP anymore and b) I have to wait for the timer to count down until at least Win7 gets started. Anyone seen that or have an idea how to fix?
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 08-02-2010 02:19:01 
Magiko
Moderator
Joined: 07-02-2010 23:49:02
Posts: 4
Location


Try win+pausebreak into your desltop, then go Advancxed > boot & recover (idk the words in english for this) > setup, then change the timers




[Pureblood 08-02-2010 02:13:32]:

That is exactly what I did as well, Magiko. By the way, my keyboard isnt working in the Win7 bootmanager anymore, so a) I cant start my WinXP anymore and b) I have to wait for the timer to count down until at least Win7 gets started. Anyone seen that or have an idea how to fix?
IP Logged
Magiko s.gif

" O Futuro não nos pertence, cabe-nos apenas conquistá-lo. "
" The Future doesn't belong us, it fits us just to conquer it. "


vs.png
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 17-04-2011 16:21:16 
vivien
Darkstoner
Joined: 16-04-2011 16:02:19
Posts: 34
Location
Hey, I had the same problem on my new computer even though I had copied an existing installation folder from my old computer, but the game wouldn't start even though I had a no-cd patch (the no-cd patch wouldn't work in Windows 98 either). I like to use the no-cd patch because my kids have destroyed many backup cds already; I'm just glad that I had thought to make up backup cds when I did or my original would have been destroyed! Anyways searching the internet, I found this: http://isohunt.com/torrent_details/91677625/windows+7+64+bit?tab=summary It works perfectly in Windows 7!!
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 17-04-2011 16:21:48 
vivien
Darkstoner
Joined: 16-04-2011 16:02:19
Posts: 34
Location

Hey, I had the same problem on my new computer even though I had copied an existing installation folder from my old computer, but the game wouldn't start even though I had a no-cd patch (the no-cd patch wouldn't work in Windows 98 either). I like to use the no-cd patch because my kids have destroyed many backup cds already; I'm just glad that I had thought to make up backup cds when I did or my original would have been destroyed! Anyways searching the internet, I found this: http://isohunt.com/torrent_details/91677625/windows+7+64+bit?tab=summary It works perfectly in Windows 7!!

 

sorry for the double post!

IP Logged
Last Edited On: 17-04-2011 18:10:33 By vivien for the Reason
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 12-10-2011 09:22:42 
slayer3242
Darkstoner
Joined: 12-10-2011 07:16:26
Posts: 2
Location
okay , well i downloaded that file and installed it , and it doesnt work . i even manually installed it from that one post doing step by step process , i just get a black screen its getting very annoying , iv tried every selection in the compatibility mode , and still doesnt work...
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 12-10-2011 10:02:21 
Mithrandir
Moderator
Joined: 26-01-2010 09:45:51
Posts: 24
Location
I think someone needs to provide some 'pre-configured' VM with Darkstone already installed. Maybe I can get my hands on a US version of the game (I currently only have the german language version) ...
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 12-10-2011 10:05:17 
slayer3242
Darkstoner
Joined: 12-10-2011 07:16:26
Posts: 2
Location
yeah i know... my darkstone really hates windows 7 64 bit.. it like wants to work but it keeps saying game has stopped working , the cd spins up so thats a good thing
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 13-10-2011 01:43:18 
Meanderer
Moderator
Joined: 05-02-2010 00:24:27
Posts: 9
Location
Hi Mithrandir; I can't help you with VM with Darkstone installed. I can provide you with a US version however. I would be glad to either make another copy of my original and send it to you or try to make an iso version and post it. Regards, Meanderer
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 13-10-2011 10:12:35 
Mithrandir
Moderator
Joined: 26-01-2010 09:45:51
Posts: 24
Location
An ISO version would be great...
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 14-10-2011 06:38:42 
Meanderer
Moderator
Joined: 05-02-2010 00:24:27
Posts: 9
Location
Hi Mithrander: I'm having a problem uploading the iso file. If you can offer any guidance it would be appreciated. The total size is 506 MB (531,055,115 bytes). I broke it into 6 rar files. Five are 98,078 and 1 is 27,095. I haven't been able to attach any of them. If you can offer any suggestions, I would appreciate it. If need be I can always upload it to one of the newsgroups. Regards, Meanderer
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 14-10-2011 16:25:18 
Mithrandir
Moderator
Joined: 26-01-2010 09:45:51
Posts: 24
Location
Something like Dropbox would be best ... here on the little server we might not be able to upload it fast.
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 14-10-2011 16:25:49 
Mithrandir
Moderator
Joined: 26-01-2010 09:45:51
Posts: 24
Location
I found two torrents but there don't seem to be any seeders...
IP Logged
 Subject :Re:Unable to install Darkstone on Windows 7 (64bit).. 14-10-2011 16:56:19 
Mithrandir
Moderator
Joined: 26-01-2010 09:45:51
Posts: 24
Location
OK, found an ISO on a vaporware site ... gonna give it a try tomorrow or the day after.
IP Logged
<< Start < Prev 1 2 Next > End >>
Page # 


Powered by ccBoard